State of Delaware
Criminal Justice Council

Victims Services Advisory Committee

The Victims Services Advisory Committee (VSAC) of the Criminal Justice Council was established in August 2013, as an advisory group to assist the CJC Staff in the development of the VOCA-Victim Assistance and the Family Violence Prevention and Assistance (FVPSA) Grant Programs.

Prior to the VSAC, the Victim Advisory Committee served as an advisory committee for the VOCA-Victim Assistance program. The Family Violence Prevention and Services Committee served as an advisory committee for the FVPSA Grant Program. The VSAC works with CJC Staff to ensure funding strategies result in equitable distribution of funds to the eligible organizations (state, local and non-profit/non-governmental) to provide direct services to victims and survivors of crime.

The VSAC reviews all concepts submitted, incorporate CJC Staff recommendations, develop a funding recommendation and submit it to the full Criminal Justice Council for final approval.

The Committee membership selection was based on agency and/or position. Listed below is the membership with the person currently in serving:

  • Chair: Chief William Bryson, Board Member CJC-Camden Police Department
  • Vice-Chair: Debra Reed, Director DSP/Delaware Victims Center
  • Hon. David C. Weiss, Esq., Acting US Attorney for Delaware
  • Hon. Amy Quinlan, State Court Administrator, Administrative Office of the Courts
  • Hon. Matt Denn., Attorney General
  • Hon. Brendan O’Neill, Public Defender
  • Hon. Dr. Kara Odom Walker, Department of Health and Social Services
  • Hon. Josette DelleDonne Manning, Esq, Department of Services for Children, Youth and their Families
  • Hon. Vincent Poppiti, (retired), Chair VAWA Implementation Committee
  • Paige Schmittinger, Esq., Executive Director of Victims’ Compensation Assistance Program
  • Sue Ryan, Executive Director, Delaware Coalition Against Domestic Violence
  • Hon. Perry Phelps, Commissioner, Department of Correction
  • Col. Nathaniel McQueen Jr., Superintendent, Delaware State Police

Staff:  Terica Jones

Related Topics:  , , , ,