What Happens Next



You have the right to a forensic medical exam, at no out-of-pocket cost to you. If you are over the age of 18, you are not required to report the crime to the police. You have the option to report to law enforcement and you can make that decision when you are ready.



The Hospital SANE programs will hold your Sexual Assault Kit (SAK) for 6 months and allow you time to decide. If you decide that you do not want to report your assault to the police, the hospital will automatically destroy your SAK after 6 months.



If you reported the crime to the police, call the law enforcement agency if you have questions about your case. The police will collect your SAK from the hospital.

Make sure your contact information is up to-date so the investigator can reach you.



Delaware's police departments have Victims Services.

If you are not sure what police department is working on your case, you can call 1-800-VICTIM-1.



YOU ARE NOT

There are trained rape crisis advocates that can provide information about your options and offer support if needed.

Services are confidential and available 24/7.

Understand your options

This project was supported by Grant No. FY 2015 AK-BX-K007 awarded by the Bureau of Justice Assistance. The Bureau of Justice Assistance is a component of the U.S. Department of Justice's Office of Justice Programs, which also includes the Bureau of Justice Statistics, the National Institute of Justice, the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, the Office for Victims of Crime, and the SMART Office. Points of view or opinions in this document are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the official position or policies of the U.S. Department of Justice.

PHONE NUMBERS

Delaware Hospitals with SANE Programs

Christiana Hospital: 302-733-4799

• Bayhealth Medical Center: 302-744-6308

Beebe Medical Center: 302-645-3311

Nanticoke Health Services: 302-629-6611 ext. 3910

Nemours Al DuPont Hospital for Children:

302-651-6901

Delaware Department of Justice

• Attorney General's Office Victim/Witness Units: 1-800-870-1790

New Castle County Office: 302-577-8500

• Kent County Office: 302-739-4211

• Sussex County Office: 302-856-5353

• Bi-Lingual- Spanish/English Toll-Free Assistance Line:

1-877-851-0482

Police-Based Victims Services

Delaware State Police 1-800-VICTIM-1

Dover Police Department: 302-736-7134

Georgetown Police Department: 302-856-6613

New Castle County Police: 302-395-8000

• Newark Police Department: 302-366-7100 ext. 3137

• Wilmington Police Department:302-576-3622

• All other police departments: Delaware Victim Center:

1-800-VICTIM-1

Rape Crisis Hotlines

• Contact Lifeline, Inc: 1-800-262-9800

YWCA of DE/Sexual Assault Response Center (SARC):

800-773-8570

Delaware State University Rape Crisis: 302-420-5751

University of Delaware Sexual Offense Support (SOS):

302-831-1001 press 1

National Sexual Assault Hotline: 800-656-HOPE